Canadian drummer, composer and bandleader Ernesto Cervini was inspired by “the qualities of goodness, decency and courage” when making his latest album Joy.

The Juno-winning musician was inspired by Louise Penny’s award-winning series of mystery novels and was moved to make music that captures the characters, settings and relationships contained in the books.

“I completely fell in love,” Cervini says. “I was captured by the storytelling and the incredible characters. Although they are detective novels, the books are filled with kindness and joy, and I was inspired to write music that reflects the themes and characters in the books.”

Joy features Cervini’s multiple groups Turboprop, Tetrahedron and TuneTown, and it’s also his first recording to include vocalists. The album features the talents of vocalists Felicity Williams, Emilie-Claire Barlow, Amy Cervini and Alex Samaras, along with clarinetist Virginia MacDonald, saxophonists Tara Davidson and Kelly Jefferson, trombonist William Carn, pianist Adrean Farrugia and bassists Dan Fortin and Rich Brown.

Listen below: